Brief History

Department of Surgery, Ramathibodi Hospital, Mahidol University is among the largest teaching hospital in the country. We have been providing high leveled medical education, undergraduate and post-graduate, to doctors; nurses; and related professions. Our services include various surgical procedures and care involving the central nervous system to fingers and toes with various technology. Among the advanced services are minimally invasive surgery techniques, laser surgery and ultrasonic power based instruments. We also devote to study and research forming new body of knowledge. Department of Surgery has been founded since 1969 along with the founding of Ramathibodi hospital. The first chief staff was Professor Prem Buri and there were 14 staff members. Now we have 50 staff members in 10 divisions.

  • General Surgery
  • Hepato-pancreatic & Biliary Surgery
  • Neurosurgery
  • Thoracic Surgery
  • Trauma Surgery & Surgical Critical Care
  • Breast & Endocrine Surgery
  • Urology
  • Plastic & Maxillofacial Surgery
  • Pediatric Surgery
  • Vascular & Transplantation Surgery
Head of Department
Prof. Krisada Ratana-Olarn, M.D.
Deputy Head of Department
Satit Kornnes, M.D.
Breast and Endocrine Surgery
Youwanush Kongdan, M.D.
Panuwat Lertsithichai, M.D.
Ronnarat Suvikapakornkul, M.D.
Yodyeng Wasutit, M.D.
Thongchai Sukarayothin, M.D.
General Surgery
Jukrapun Auonarasert, M.D.
Suriya Chakkaphak, M.D.
Wiwat Tirapanich, M.D.
Kanit Sumboonnanonda, M.D.
Chumpon Wilasrusmee R.N.
Weerapat Suwanthanma, M.D.
Prakasit Chirappapha, M.D.
Pitichote Hiranyatheb, M.D.
Chairat Supsamutchai, M.D.
Hepato-pancreatic and Biliary Surgery
Sawit Kositchaiwut, M.D.
Somkit Mingphruedhi, M.D.
Narongsak Rungsakulkij, M.D.
Paramin Muangkaew, M.D.
Taweesak Janwityanujit, M.D.
Prasert Sarnvivad, M.D.
Veera Sinpornchai, M.D.
Ake Hansasuta, M.D.
Kriangsak Saetia, M.D.
Atthaporn Boongird, M.D.
Wattana Mahattanakul, M.D.
Sorayouth Chlmnanvej, M.D.
Pediatric Surgery
Satit Kornnes, M.D.
Sumat Teeraratkul, M.D.
Wichai Punsrimongkorn, M.D.
Sani Malakul, M.D.
Pornsri Thanachatchairattana, M.D.
Chollasak Thirapattaraphan, M.D.
Plastic and Maxillofacial Surgery
Ati Keurvit , M.D.
Narong Boonyahotra , M.D.
Vichai Srimuninnimit, M.D.
Chalermpong Chatdokmaiprai, M.D.
Ajchariya Sarovath, M.D.
Kachin Wattanawong, M.D.
Surawej Numhom, M.D.
Kidakorn Kiranantawat, M.D.
Thoracic Surgery
Sukasom Attanavanich, M.D.
Montien Ngod-Ngamthaweesuk, M.D.
Piya Samankatiwat, M.D.
Parinya Leelayana, M.D.
Piya Cherntanomwong, M.D.
Chawannuch Ruangsee, M.D.
Trauma Surgery and Surgical Critical Care
Preeda Sumritpradit, M.D.
Pongsasit Singhatas, M.D.
Charoen Leenanupunth, M.D.
Krisada Ratana-Olarn, M.D.
Suchart Chaimuangraj, M.D.
Vachira Kochakarn, M.D.
Sompol Perm Pong Kosol, M.D.
Wisoot Kongchareonsombat, M.D.
Wit Viseshsindh, M.D.
Kittinut Kijvikai, M.D.
Vascular and Transplantation Surgery
Sutas Sripochanat, M.D.
Sopon Jirasiritam, M.D.
Surasak Leela-Udomlipi, M.D.
Piyanut Pootracool, M.D.
Veeravorn Ariyakhajorn, M.D

Department of Surgery
Building 1, 3rd floor, The Faculty of Medicine, Ramathibodi Hospital
270 Rama VI Rd. Ratchatewi, Bangkok 10400
Tel. +66 2-201-1315 Fax. +66 2-201-1316